Application Backup Settings and Synology Drive Share Folders

Sharing this with the world, but I discovered the hard way that if you decide to backup your Application Settings and select “Synology Drive Server” as an option, the shared folder goes with it. This is why I couldn’t figure out how a small 1GB folder was taking up 16TB =)

2 Likes

Yes! I wish this would be more clear and a way to disable this! Backing up an application requires you to backup all of its data, so if you have a shared folder setup as a team folder in drive it will have to be backed up.

This is a huge pain for backing up surveillance station, because it forces you to backup all of your footage that you do not care about backing up offsite

1 Like