I cannot manage to do port forwarding

Hello,

I am new to Synology and to the SpaceRex YouTube channel. I saw the video about setting up your NAS remote access and I’m trying to use OpenVPN to access it.

My understanding is that I need to do port forwarding on my router to be able to use OpenVPN. I tried with the following set up but it does not work unfortunately… The port is still closed. Would you be able to tell what am I doing wrong?

Here is the OpenVPN settings and my router settings. So I tried to open the port 1194.

I guess the issue is linked to the other device I have between my router and the internet line. Basically I have another router (I guess) that takes the internet connection and transfers it to the router I configured via a LAN cable. @Will said that we have to set the middle router in a passthrough mode but I do not know how to do…

Just for information, the router I configured is the Tp-link AX3000 and the router connected directly to the fiber is the Nokia G-240G-E.

Appreciate your help

First things first. Make sure that port 1194 is open on your NAS and that there is a firewall rule on your NAS allowing traffic in. Every checkpoint (router & NAS) needs to have the port opened and a firwall rule to let traffic to pass. If it is then remove the Nokia and connect your TP-Link router WAN port directly to the internet and then see if the port is open to the internet. Make sure that your setup will otherwise work if the Nokia isn’t there. I don’t think the Nokia is a router. I think it only converts a copper connection to am optical fiber connection. I assume you already have internet connectivity.

Thank you for taking the time to reply to my problem :smile:

The thing is that I cannot connect the internet directly into the TP-Link because the cable is not the same…

The upper cable is the one giving me the internet and it is smaller than a normal LAN cable. Unless there are some adaptor I could buy online to solve this ?