Professional Photographer looking for best way to set up Synology NAS?

Good afternoon,

Have a question about the best way forward with acquiring a Synology NAS…

I am currently looking at the 1821+

So I am a professional photographer and I currently have over 50TB worth of images saved on multiple external G-drives.

My images are sorted in folders by years, and then by the type of events (Sports, Portraits, Client, etc)…

If/when I purchase the 1821+ …what is the best configuration? In my mind, I am thinking installing the 16TB hard drives…8 of them, then likely upgrade the memory and maybe cache to SSDs…

Couple questions:

What is the best way to transfer my images from the G-drives to the NAS?

I do not think I want to use Synology Photos for my images but I am not sure…

Wanted to ask the community and get your thoughts on the best way forward.

Thanks
Scott

So the easiest way to transfer is going to be to hook up your drives to your computer and transfer them via SMB (either windows file explorer or macOS finder).

If I were you I would enable shared space on Synology Photos and copy all of your .jpg exports to the /photo folder. Then copy all of your RAW files to the NAS in a separate folder.

I have a video coming out on May 8th that goes over the whole workflow!

1 Like

Got it, thanks Will.

Do you think the set I described will be a solid set up and allow me to expand…any suggestions on the configuration of the 1821+?

Looking forward to your video on the 8th

Respectfully
Scott

So the setup I would go with with your NAS would be 8x 16 drives in a RAID6 volume (SHR2 is fine as well [same thing]). This would give you

16TB x (8-2)drives = 96TB (useable)

Which should be more than enough for you short term. Then if you end up needing even more space you can buy an expansion unit for it, and use that to archive some of your years to that unit

1 Like