Sharing folders and pictures through Synology

I am a pro photographer and also takes tons of images for family members.
I have installed Synology Photos on my brandnew DS1821+ running the latest software (I think DSM 7.2) and watched the vids Will posted about Synology Photos. In there, he says that you can’t share folders (which I found to be true as well). At first, I tried manually creating the folders inside Synology Photo’s, which worked, but as I have so many folders and files (I create a folder for each “event” we do, yyyy-mm-dd and what the photos are about), it is very tedious to do…

So I copied over the files via SMB, GREAT, no need to really do anything to make the folders and the “upload” is a lot faster (just a straight copy, in stead of having to upload).
When I want to share the folders with members and groups I have created, I have to go into each folder, select the images (I can’t even do a CTRL+A, which is annoying), and share the images with user A, B, C, which works. However, the view the recipient gets, is a folder with todays’ date, with the images inside it, not the naming of the folders I made. Yes, almost all pictures are also renamed yyyy-mm-dd and what they are about, but it’s not that easy to see and download.

Next to that, I want to share the images with my wifes’ family from events we do together, but not with my family and vice versa (thank you GDPR in Europe that is insane). Seeing all these folders with today’s date (I have multiple ones, for each folderset of images I have shared with them), is not really that helpful. Moreover, they would have to go into each folder separately, to download the images and since the majority of my images to share with family go back to before 2012 and we have quite a few gatherings every year, that is a lot of folders…